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Understand Your Analytics

Here’s to growth!

How to read your analytics dashboard!

Today we’ll walk through everything you need to know about your analytics dashboard. If you need us to resend your unique analytics dashboard link, please email us at [email protected] and we’ll get it sent over right away! First things first with your new dashboard link, make sure you select the date range you’re most interested in!

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Dashboard Breakdown:

Total Website Conversions (Real Time Tracking)

This section is keeping track of all of the conversions on your website. These conversions are attributed when someone completes an action on your website. These actions can be things like requesting an appointment or refill, completing a contact form, or using their mobile device to click-to-call or click-to-email you. These conversions are calculated in real time giving you the ability to refresh the dashboard online and watch the conversions climb throughout the day, week, or month!

We also track things like clicks over to your online store and online form completions, and anything else that you specifically want to track!

Please note: these numbers do not include people that land on your website and just dial your number or call to request an appointment. These numbers are specific things that happen on your website.

For our advertising clients: Google has additional conversion tracking that will be on a separate dashboard for you to analyze.

What it looks like:

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Top Web Key Performance Indicators

Unique User – This is how many individual people visited your site in the given time period. In any time period, each person can only count as one user per device.

Session – This is how many total times all users in a given time period visited your website. Each user can only count as one user but can account for multiple sessions within a certain time period.

Pageviews – This is the total number of pages viewed on your website during a specific timeframe. Each person will count as one user but can account for multiple sessions and pageviews.

Top Pages by Pageviews

We want you to understand what your most popular pages are according to web traffic so that you know what people are looking at most. A quick tip: “/” is the homepage, and will likely always be your top page!

Which channels and websites are driving engagement?

This is where we look at how people are finding your website! Organic search means they found you from a search engine like Google, Bing, or Yahoo. Direct traffic is most often the result of a user entering a URL into their browser or using a bookmark to directly access the site. Referral traffic is when someone clicks on a hyperlink to go to a new page on a different website, Analytics tracks the click as a referral visit to the second site. Social media traffic is all traffic that comes from social networks like Facebook and Twitter. Paid traffic comes from advertising like Google Adwords and Facebook.

Devices Your Visitors Are Using

This is where we look at the devices your users are using to access your website. You’ll be surprised that more than half will most likely be on a mobile device!

New VS Returning Visitors

This is where we look at how many new users are coming to your website. The more new people finding you (through organic search and paid ads) is a good way to grow your business!

% of Total Visitors That Are New

We want to know how many new visitors found you each month, which is why this number is specifically called out in this section. New users mean new business, and we want to focus on that!

What it looks like:

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SEO (Organic Search) Data

These numbers are identical to your key performance indicator data but calculate data from people that found you on search engines like Google, Bing, and Yahoo. We want to specifically call out how WhiskerCloud can bring a ton of traffic to your website just from the optimizations we make on your website for search engine optimization!

New Users From Organic Search – You came to WhiskerCloud so that people can find you on search engines when they’re looking for a new veterinarian! We want you to know the exact number of new users that came to your website through search engines during the month.

Unique User – This is how many individual people visited your site in the given time period. In any time period, each person can only count as one user per device.

Session – This is how many total times all users in a given time period visited your website. Each user can only count as one user but can account for multiple sessions within a certain time period.

Pageviews – This is the total number of pages viewed on your website during a specific timeframe. Each person will count as one user but can account for multiple sessions and pageviews.

Top Pages by Pageviews

We want you to understand what your most popular pages are according to web traffic so that you know what people are looking at most. A quick tip: “/” is the homepage, and will likely always be your top page!

Which channels and websites are driving engagement?

This is where we look at how people are finding your website! Organic search means they found you from a search engine like Google, Bing, or Yahoo. Direct traffic is most often the result of a user entering a URL into their browser or using a bookmark to directly access the site. Referral traffic is when someone clicks on a hyperlink to go to a new page on a different website, Analytics tracks the click as a referral visit to the second site. Social media traffic is all traffic that comes from social networks like Facebook and Twitter. Paid traffic comes from advertising like Google Adwords and Facebook.

Devices Your Visitors Are Using

This is where we look at the devices your users are using to access your website. You’ll be surprised that more than half will most likely be on a mobile device!

New VS Returning Visitors

This is where we look at how many new users are coming to your website. The more new people finding you (through organic search and paid ads) is a good way to grow your business!

Top Keywords

These are the top keywords that people are using to find your clinic, and we use this data to continually optimize your metatags and information on the website, so your SEO numbers continue to grow!

What it looks like:

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Google Listing Data

Did you know that WhiskerCloud also handled your listing management on important websites like Google? It’s important that your hours, website details, and service areas are optimized and up-to-date. If we do not have access to your Google My Business page, don’t worry, we’ll be reaching out and requesting it. If you are having issues getting access to the page, please email us at [email protected] so that we can reach out to Google on your behalf and get it taken care of!

When you show up on Google, it shows other important information other than just your name!

Phone Calls – This is the number of times someone found your business on Google and clicked “Call” directly in their search results. These numbers are not reflected in your conversion data of the dashboard, but are just as important!

Website Clicks – This is the number of times someone found your business on Google and clicked “Website” directly in their search results, bringing them to your website directly. These numbers are not reflected in your conversion data of the dashboard, but are just as important!

Directions Request – This is the number of times someone found your business on Google and clicked “Directions” directly in their search results, bringing them Google Maps and giving them instant directions to your locations. These numbers are not reflected in your conversion data of the dashboard, but are just as important!

Total Views – This is the number of times someone found your business on Google throughout the month, but it does not mean that they clicked anything like “Call” or “Website.”

Total Views By Google Service – This data is new and very important. These numbers show us how people found you, whether it was through a Google Search query or a Google Maps query. It’s important to know how people are finding you online, and we want you to have this data.

What it looks like:

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This data is accessible to clients on our Content and Advertising Plans!

If you would like to speak with WhiskerCloud about helping with your social media or marketing needs, we’d be more than happy to schedule a call and set up a free 14-day trial! Email us at [email protected] and let us know how we can help!

Facebook Data

We wanted to include the most important date when it comes to the growth of your Facebook page!

Fans Count – This interactive historical graph will show you how your page has grown over time. More growth means growing your audience and giving yourself the ability to sell and convert new business for your brand!

Page Impressions – This is the number of times your posts have been seen during the month on Facebook. These numbers will fluctuate with seasonality and depending on the count that is being posted. This is a good reason to continue posting awesome content that gets engagement!

Virality Impressions – This is the number of unique people who saw your post or Page mentioned in a story published by a friend. These stories include actions such as Liking, sharing or commenting. These numbers are important in showing how much exposure you’re currently getting each month from your current fanbase.

Engagement Rate – This is the number of comments, shares, clicks, likes expressed as a percentage of the total people a post reached. An engagement rate of above 1% is good, 0.5% to 0.99% is average, and anything below 0.5% needs improvement.

Top Posts By Impressions – These are the posts that are picking up the most steam and getting seent throughout the month. This should allow you to understand better what your clients are enjoying that you post, and will guide you (and us) in creating new content they’ll love!

What it looks like:

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Google Ads Data

Please note: These numbers do not include conversions and tracking from ad extensions where people call or book an appointment directly through the ads that are running. To book time with a WhiskerCloud advertising specialist, click here!

Total Spent – This is how much was spent so far during a particular month on this advertising network.

Keywords – Words or phrases describing your product or service that you choose to help determine when and where your ad can appear. The keywords you choose are used to show your ads to people. Select high-quality, relevant keywords for your ad campaign to help you reach only the most interested people, who are more likely to become your customers.

Click – When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, Google Ads counts that as a click. Clicks can help you understand how well your ad is appealing to people who see it. Relevant, highly-targeted ads are more likely to receive clicks.

Impressions – How often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or another site on the Google Network. Each time your ad appears on Google or the Google Network, it’s counted as one impression.

Clickthrough Rate (CTR) – A ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. Clickthrough rate (CTR) can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads are performing. CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown: clicks ÷ impressions = CTR. For example, if you had 5 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.

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Cost-per-click (CPC) – Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid – or simply “max. CPC” – that’s the highest amount that you’re willing to pay for a click on your ad.

Conversion – An action that’s counted when someone interacts with your ad (for example, clicks a text ad or views a video ad) and then takes an action that you’ve defined as valuable to your business, such as an online purchase or a call to your business from a mobile phone.

Average Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) – The average amount you’ve been charged for a conversion from your ad. Average cost-per-acquisition (CPA) is calculated by dividing the total cost of conversions by the total number of conversions. For example, if your ad receives 2 conversions, one costing $2.00 and one costing $4.00, your average CPA for those conversions is $3.00.

Relevance – How closely the elements of your ad campaign match what a person seems to be looking for. Your ads and keywords should directly relate to the content on your website, especially the ad’s landing page. When people see your ad, they should be able to understand what kind of product, service, or other content they’ll find on your site.

Top Keywords With Quality Score – It’s important to know which of the keywords we’re targeting are performing best based on clicks, impressions, and cost. Quality scores change over time, but it’s still something we factor in when optimizing your ads!

What it looks like:

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Facebook Ads Data

Please note: These numbers do not include conversions and tracking from ad extensions where people call or book an appointment directly through the ads that are running. To book time with a WhiskerCloud advertising specialist, click here!

Total Spent – This is how much was spent so far during a particular month on this advertising network.

Click – When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, Google Ads counts that as a click. Clicks can help you understand how well your ad is appealing to people who see it. Relevant, highly-targeted ads are more likely to receive clicks.

Impressions – How often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or another site on the Google Network. Each time your ad appears on Google or the Google Network, it’s counted as one impression.

Clickthrough Rate (CTR) – A ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. Clickthrough rate (CTR) can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads are performing. CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown: clicks ÷ impressions = CTR. For example, if you had 5 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.

Cost-per-click (CPC) – Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid – or simply “max. CPC” – that’s the highest amount that you’re willing to pay for a click on your ad.

Top Click By Campaign – These numbers show you which of your ads or ad sets are performing best, giving you the information you need to put more money behind the best performing Facebook ads!

What it looks like:

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Want customized data?

Email us at [email protected] and let us know what you’d like to track! We can add custom tracking for anything on your website right on your dashboard, so you can focus on the data that means the most to you.

Have a question?

Click the button below to contact us – we’re happy to walk you through the entire process of getting started with WhiskerCloud!

WhiskerCloud Support